I’m Gonna Live!!

We have an old family friend in Budapest. I haven’t seen him for about 20 years. And yet, he and his family welcomed me into their home for two nights, fed me, showed me around Buda and Pest, as well as the smaller town of Szentendre where they live, answered my questions, and gave me lots of insights into the history of the city and country. It was a really welcome break to stay in a family home and eat at a family’s table.

This amazing hospitality was made all the sweeter by the AMAZING weather on Saturday – I even declined to go into a museum so we could stay outside. The title of this post reflects how I felt, which is how the first truly sunny and warm day makes me feel after any winter – you know, the thrill of realizing that the snow might finally melt, that it might one day be warm enough to go without a jacket, that it is noticeably warmer in the sun than in the shade… typical spring feelings. And the city itself? It’s a beautiful place that I didn’t have enough time with, but at least I got a small taste. To my hosts, I can’t thank you enough!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

